There are 24 Academy Awards handed out on Oscar night. Save yourself all the sheer horror of watching the event on TV and just find out the winners in my extended entry.

And yes, I’m updating this LIVE.
All awards now posted. Enjoy!

All winners are in italics and are marked with an asterisk.

Nominations for Best Motion Picture
‘The Aviator’ (Miramax/Warner Bros.)
‘Finding Neverland’ (Miramax)
* ‘Million Dollar Baby’ (Warner Bros.)
‘Ray (Widescreen Edition)’ (Universal Pictures)
‘Sideways’ (Fox Searchlight)

Nominations for Best Actor
Don Cheadle for ‘Hotel Rwanda’
Johnny Depp for ‘Finding Neverland’
Leonardo DiCaprio for ‘The Aviator’
* Jamie Foxx for ‘Ray’
Clint Eastwood for ‘Million Dollar Baby’

Nominations for Best Actress
Annette Bening for ‘Being Julia’
Catalina Sandino Moreno for ‘Maria Full of Grace’
Imelda Staunton for ‘Vera Drake’
* Hilary Swank for ‘Million Dollar Baby’
Kate Winslet for ‘Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind’

Nominations for Best Supporting Actor
Alan Alda for ‘The Aviator’
Thomas Haden Church for ‘Sideways’
Jamie Foxx for ‘Collateral’
* Morgan Freeman for ‘Million Dollar Baby’
Clive Owen for ‘Closer’

Nominations for Best Supporting Actress
* Cate Blanchett for ‘The Aviator’
Laura Linney for ‘Kinsey’
Virginia Madsen for ‘Sideways’
Sophie Okonedo for ‘Hotel Rwanda’
Natalie Portman for ‘Closer’

Nominations for Best Director
* Clint Eastwood for ‘Million Dollar Baby’
Taylor Hackford for ‘Ray’
Mike Leigh for ‘Vera Drake’
Alexander Payne for ‘Sideways’
Martin Scorsese for ‘The Aviator’

Best Writing, Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen
John Logan for ‘The Aviator’ (Published screenplay: ‘The Aviator : A Screenplay’)
* Charlie Kaufman, Michel Gondry, Pierre Bismuth for ‘Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind’ (Published screenplay: ‘Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind: The Shooting Script (Newmarket Shooting Script Series)’)
Terry George, Keir Pearson for ‘Hotel Rwanda’
Brad Bird for ‘The Incredibles’
Mike Leigh for ‘Vera Drake’

Best Writing, Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or Published
Richard Linklater, Kim Krizan, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke for ‘Before Sunset’ (Published script: ‘Before Sunrise & Before Sunset : Two Screenplays (Vintage)’)
David Magee for ‘Finding Neverland ‘
Paul Haggis for ‘Million Dollar Baby’ (screenplay based on the stories in ‘Million Dollar Baby: Stories From The Corner’
Jose Rivera for ‘The Motorcycle Diaries’ (screenplay based on the book ‘The Motorcycle Diaries : A Latin American Journey’
* Alexander Payne & Jim Taylor for ‘Sideways’ (Published script: ‘Sideways: The Shooting Script’, based on the book ‘Sideways : A Novel’)

Best Achievement in Cinematography
* Robert Richardson for ‘The Aviator’
Xiaoding Zhao for ‘House of Flying Daggers’
Caleb Deschanel for ‘The Passion of the Christ’
John Mathieson for ‘The Phantom of the Opera’
Bruno Delbonnel for ‘A Very Long Engagement’

Best Achievement in Editing
* Thelma Schoonmaker for ‘The Aviator’
Jim Miller, Paul Rubell for ‘Collateral’
Matt Chesse for ‘Finding Neverland’
Joel Cox for ‘Million Dollar Baby’
Paul Hirsch for ‘Ray’

Best Achievement in Art Direction
* Dante Ferretti, Francesca LoSchiavo for ‘The Aviator’
Gemma Jackson, Trisha Edwards for ‘Finding Neverland’
Rick Heinrichs, Cheryl Carasik for ‘Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events’
Anthony Pratt, Celia Bobak for ‘The Phantom of the Opera’
Aline Bonetto for ‘A Very Long Engagement’

Best Achievement in Costume Design
* Sandy Powell for ‘The Aviator’
Alexandra Byrne for ‘Finding Neverland’
Colleen Atwood for ‘Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events’
Sharen Davis for ‘Ray’
Bob Ringwood for ‘Troy’

Best Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures, Original Score (CD Soundtrack Linked)
* Jan A.P. Kaczmarek for ‘Finding Neverland’
John Williams for ‘Harry Potter & The Prisoner of Azkaban’
Thomas Newman for ‘Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack’
John Debney for ‘The Passion of the Christ (Score)’
James Newton Howard for ‘The Village (Score)’

Best Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures, Original Song (CD Soundtrack Linked)
Bruno Coulais, Christophe Barratier for ‘Les Choristes’ (“Look To Your Path (Vois Sur Ton Chemin)”)
* Jorge Drexler for ‘The Motorcycle Diaries’ (“Al Otro Lado Del Río”)
Andrew Lloyd Webber, Charles Hart for ‘The Phantom of the Opera (2004 Movie Soundtrack)’ (“Learn To Be Lonely”)
Glen Ballard, Alan Silvestri for ‘The Polar Express’ (“Believe”)
Several writers for ‘Shrek 2’ (“Accidentally In Love”)

Best Achievement in Makeup
* ‘Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events’
‘The Passion of the Christ’
‘The Sea Inside’

Best Achievement in Sound
‘The Aviator’
‘The Incredibles’
‘The Polar Express’
* ‘Ray’
‘Spider-Man 2’

Best Achievement in Sound Editing
* ‘The Incredibles’
‘The Polar Express’
‘Spider-Man 2’

Best Achievement in Visual Effects
‘Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban’
‘I, Robot’
* ‘Spider-Man 2 ‘

Nominations for Best Animated Feature Film
* ‘The Incredibles ‘
‘Shark Tale’
‘Shrek 2’

Best Foreign Language Film
‘The Chorus (Les Choristes)’ (France)
The Downfall: Hitler and the End of the Third Reich (Germany)
* ‘The Sea Inside’ (Spain)
As in Heaven (Sweden)
Yesterday (South Africa)

Best Documentary Feature
* Born Into Brothels: Calcutta’s Red Light Kids
‘The Story of the Weeping Camel’
‘Super Size Me’
‘Tupac – Resurrection’
Twist of Faith

Best documentary short subject
‘Autism Is a World’
‘The Children of Leningradsky’
* ‘Mighty Times: The Children’s March’
‘Sister Rose’s Passion’

Best animated short film
‘Birthday Boy’
‘Gopher Broke’
‘Guard Dog’
* ‘Ryan’

Best live action short film
‘Everything in This Country Must ‘
‘Little Terrorist’
‘7:35 in the Morning ( 7:35 de la Mañana)’
‘Two Cars, One Night’
* ‘Wasp’

Be Sociable, Share!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.